Unforgettable Classic Movie actresses…

Pola Negri

8eb77ipja2e8aje7

She is my number one. Pola is a great inspiration to me in many fields. Not only she was a talented actress but also a very strong woman who went through many ups and downs, being quite unhappy in her private life. I don’t know if I should believe her autobiography or not but it’s worth reading. Her life seemed to be a dream, from a little Polish town to splendid Hollywood of the 20’s. She had everything but, with time, she lost all of it. She died alone, having no children, no family, completely forgotten by the world. This blog is named after a song she sang in German, which was a big hit in the 30’s. I adore her also because she was a polyglot. She spoke Polish, German, Russian, French and English. She didn’t make a career when sound films were introduced, she had a strong Polish accent in English and her fans couldn’t forgive her that after Rudolph Valentino’s death she quickly married someone else.

Lauren Bacall

lauren

Lauren Bacall is still alive and I’d do a lot to have a chance to talk to her. After all, she was the one who made a 45-year-old Humphrey Bogart fall in love. She was only 20! But when you watch their first film together, ‘To have and to have not’, it’s hard to believe she was that young, she was already a 100% woman. The famous whistle scene from that film is unforgettable. The chemistry between them is so visible that I was sure there must have been something going on the very first time I watched it a long time ago. Then I found out that they got married and they were together until Bogart’s death in 1957. The quote “You know how to whistle, don’t you, Steve? You just put your lips together and blow.” has been put on the list of best 100 Movie Quotes by The American Film Institute.

 Greta Garbo

Trio 2

The unforgettable Anna Karenina, Ninotchka and Mata Hari. What a pity she retired so early. Her Anna Karenina was the best in history and now, watching Keira Knightley, sorry but I can’t stand the way she plays, and the newest adaptation of Anna Karenina is not for me.

Ina Benita

ina_benita_wrzesien_1939

Ina Benita was the first real sex bomb in Poland. Beautiful and charming, she usually played femme fatale. There was no one like her in the 30’s in Polish film industry. Like many other talented actors, she died during the war, in the sewers during Warsaw uprising, holding her baby. I wish her films were available with English subtitles… You can watch a short video here.

 Vivien Leigh

vivien-leigh--large-msg-131852978088

Vivien Leigh. The one and only. I can’t help admiring actresses with a strong character (maybe that’s why I’m not a big fan of Audrey Hepburn, who was too giggly in her movies, too girly for me…), playing mysterious women who know how to get what they want. She became one of my favourites after watching ‘Dark journey’ with Conrad Veidt. And of course ‘Gone with the wind’ but this is obvious.

 Marlene Dietrich

marlena-dietrich

Oh, Marlene… There’s no need to explain.

 Ingrid Bergman

CH102412IngridBergman6

Frankly, I haven’t seen all films with her yet. To me she will always be linked to ‘Casablanca’ where she was absolutely stunning.

And you? Who is your favourite?

