Oh, Gatsby…

PicMonkey Cnollage

I must admit that I read ‘The Great Gatsby’ only last year. It’s not an obligatory book at school in Poland and you need to get interested yourself to find it and read it. I got interested because of Robert Redford who is one of my favourite actors and who played Gatsby in 1974. So I watched the film first and then I read the book. It should be the other way round, I know. Nevertheless, I realized it was one of the best books I’ve ever read even if some people see only a simple love story in it.

il_fullxfull.463605843_p96t

It’s a story about us being constantly deluded. About dreaming of repeating the past. We often think it’s possible. It’s enough to make the same conditions, gather the same people and voilà, the past can be repeated. We don’t understand that every story happens to us only once and if we blow the chance, it will never come back again.

ZGScYnl

This book is important to me due to personal reasons, too. Then I also adore the style of the 20’s so it is a pleasure to me to watch both film versions, the one from 1974 and 2013. Leonardo DiCaprio is a great actor, but still I prefer Robert Redford as Gatsby, to me he is more mysterious, more complicated as a character. A lot of people criticize Mia Farrow playing Daisy in the old version, but I think she is perfect because Daisy should be annoying, childish and carefree. She is the symbol of materialism, money that rule our lives. After all, ‘…rich girls don’t marry poor boys…’.

GreatGatsby_174Pyxurz

This story always makes me sad. Always. Good that thanks to the new version ‘Gatsby’ has gained more fans, also among youngsters. I’m not such a big fan of the new soundtrack, though, except the magnificent song by Lana Del Ray, which I’m addicted to. To me contemporary music doesn’t match with the 20’s, I’d rather listen to Charleston 🙂

“I wouldn’t ask too much of her,” I ventured. “You can’t repeat the past.”
“Can’t repeat the past?” he cried incredulously. “Why of course you can!”
He looked around him wildly, as if the past were lurking here in the shadow of his house, just out of reach of his hand.
“I’m going to fix everything just the way it was before,” he said, nodding determinedly. “She’ll see.”

Yes… This is definitely my favourite quote that forced me to think a lot about my life and my delusions. I guess there’s a bit of Jay Gatsby in all of us…

gatsby74

